Ten of Destiny

Only those who reject destiny shall incur Fate's wrath.

In the urban sprawl of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, ten strangers are being brought together. . . An old soul. A fiery spirit. A willful outcast. Two British brothers. A hopeful runaway. A wandering orphan. A disillusioned journalist. A Botswanan minister. And a mysterious psychic. . . As this found family unites, it seems serendipity may finally heal their collective pain.

But behind these fated meetings lurks a sinister agenda.

Elusive and otherworldly beings dubbed the Fates have endowed the ten with supernatural abilities. Incredible at first, the ten soon realize there’s just one catch—the loss of their free will. As some lose their minds to these overwhelming new powers, the ten find themselves pitted against each other, forced into a deadly game with humanity’s future at stake.

What does fate permit us to do? Are we a product of choice or design? In this urban fantasy adventure, the ten must resist the will of destiny if they wish to carve their own paths. Armed only with camaraderie, they will discover if the strength of their choice is enough to prevent the looming, catastrophic future thrust upon them.

Ten of Destiny is a four-part new adult epic that combines mystical science fiction with contemporary fantasy in a diverse tale of romance, magic, and mystery. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and The Cruel Prince, these compelling characters will steal your heart and leave you eager for more.

About the Series

Every mind is a universe. Be careful what you let in...

Centered in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, the story is a tale of mystical intrigue, destiny and choice, and a found family carving their place in the world. It explores the philosophical concepts of free will and determinism.

de·ter·min·ism the doctrine that all events, including human action, are ultimately determined by causes external to the will

I grew up reading manga and playing RPGs, especially Final Fantasy, so I take a lot of inspiration from that style of storytelling. Ten of Destiny came about after asking myself, "Why would characters that receive supernatural powers easily accept them? What if destiny forced them to take a path they didn't want?" Stories like Narnia and X/1999 got me thinking about that, and so Ten of Destiny was born.

However, the focus of this story lies in its characters. I created a wide, diverse cast because it seemed appropriate that people deciding the fate of humanity should come from different parts of the globe. Different identities and cultures offer unique perspectives. Ten characters is a lot to juggle, but making these characters memorable and individualistic has been my central goal. So much of my soul went into giving them voice and making them grounded and relatable. I wanted to share the struggle of overcoming trauma while providing hope in healing. I'm sure among these ten characters, you'll find someone you resonate with.

Divine Death was originally titled TEN: Part 1 (released Feb 2019). In Oct 2020, the second edition of Part 1 was re-released as Divine Death.

1) Divine Death
2) Forlorn Famine
3) Book 3: 2021
4) Book 4: TBA

Contemporary Urban Fantasy, Epic Fantasy, New Adult, LGBTQ+ Fantasy, Dark Fantasy, elements of Action/Adventure, Thriller, and Romance

Content Warning:
The Ten of Destiny Series is suitable for most young adult readers and above. The series contains adult situations, strong language, and violence.


You can support the series and read in-progress chapters on Patreon as well as follow my Author Page or review on Goodreads and Amazon. Please note that as an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases through links on this page at no additional cost to you.

Want to learn more? Sign up below to receive the first 3 Chapters of the book plus the Ten of Destiny Character Sheet with bonus information on the story and characters. You'll also get shop coupons and info on new releases. I don't share your information, and you can read my Privacy Policy here.